Moral values you teach your kids are useless if you don’t practice them


I am a firm believer of “Children learn faster by observing than by listening to their parents”. If you are looking for a list of things that needs to be taught to your children or a number of ideas to work around I am very sorry to say that this is definitely not your cup of tea.  Sometimes we young mothers tend to get carried away.. With domestic chores, work and being a mom can be really taxing especially when children learn faster and from a lot of people they meet on a day to day basis. Yes, it is important to introduce and explain lot of meaningful concepts/principles at a very young age but at the same time it is definitely not going to work out if you expect your children to follow them blindly when you don’t. Now don’t be too hard on yourself. Remember the mantra is “slowly-patiently-steadily’.

Children tend to observe what you live by and let it into their subconscious mind without even realizing it.  I have done lot of mistakes while bringing up my baby girl. I have snapped and said few things very rudely (esp when I was working), i have used certain words without even realizing it. But it was my little sunshine helped me to change myself  to be better mother.

Here are few things that I learnt from her. Treat them like you treat any person.. apologize when you do something wrong, accept when you have made a mistake and voice it out, say sorry when you are late,  think twice before committing to anything, if you do commit try to keep up your word, be stern but not rude. Sometimes things you casually mention while chatting have greater impact rather than having a discussion. When your kid sees you being kind, polite, assertive, committed and truthful and honest, they will not need you to teach them any of this. Many a times a problem  can be easily handled by just asking them for ideas. Since it is their idea it works 100% of the time. I once asked my daughter why she never listens to me when she is playing in her school play area and what I should do to make her listen (I had tried a zillion things and ended up asking her) she simply said I just have to say “freeze” and she would immediately come with me!!!!! And it worked just fine. 🙂

SOMETIMES THINGS ARE TOO SIMPLE BUT WE END UP COMPLICATING IT

2 thoughts on “Moral values you teach your kids are useless if you don’t practice them

Leave a Reply

